

VAN VLECK CONSTITUTIONAL LAW MOOT COURT COMPETITION 2016-2017

The Van Vleck Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition presents two constitutional law issues that a hypothetical Supreme Court has agreed to resolve. Working in teams of two, competitors submit briefs and argue for both parties to the case. Each competitor individually briefs one issue. The winning team receives the *Jacob Burns Award*, which includes plaques and monetary prizes, over graduation weekend. In the past, the Van Vleck problem has dealt with the constitutionality of a sex offender registry under the Due Process Clause, the scope of Congress's legislative power under the Commerce Clause, and the extent to which a public university may regulate student speech and expression on its campus without undermining First Amendment rights.

Judge William J. Kayatta Jr. (First Circuit), Judge Raymond M. Kethledge (Sixith Circuit), and Kathleen M. O'Malley (Federal Circuit) will preside over the Final.

Monday, Sep. 5, 2016: Deadline to Register

Saturday, Oct. 22, 2016: Preliminary Round

Friday, Sept. 9, 2016: Problem Distributed

Sunday, Nov. 6, 2016: Advancement Round(s)

Wednesday, Oct. 5, 2016: Petitioner And

TBA Nov. 14-18, 2016: Semifinal Round

Respondent Briefs Due

Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2017: Final Round

PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS AND INFORMATION

To participate in the 2016-2017 Van Vleck Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition, students must complete the following by Monday, September 5, 2016:

- (1) **Register by September 5th** to receive credit for the Van Vleck competition via GWeb. The course is titled "Moot Court – Van Vleck" (LAW 6644-25)" and the CRN is 10977. Students are not permitted to audit the course.
- (2) Complete and submit an "Intent to Compete" form by September 5th, available on the course portal once registered, or in hard copy in the Distribution Center across from Records or from Dean Johnson in STU207. Once completed, it can be submitted in either hard copy location.

Please **check the portal regularly** as all Van Vleck competition materials and announcements will be distributed via the portal. For questions, please email the Van Vleck Chair, Mariel Murphy, at vanvleck@law.gwu.edu